Upgrade Magazine


Ford Philippines names winners of 19th Henry Ford Awards

Now on its 19th year, the HFA has served as a platform in recognizing the important role of journalists in taking the country’s automotive industry forward.

Ford Philippines has announced the winners of the annual Henry Ford Awards (HFA). 

Now on its 19th year, the HFA has served as a platform in recognizing the important role of journalists in taking the country’s automotive industry forward. The HFA has become an institution in the industry with its continuing efforts to help uplift the state of motoring journalism in the country and give outstanding media practitioners the recognition they deserve.

This year, the HFA welcomed two innovations in the advent of the digital revolution. Firstly, it introduced an all-digital submission for all entries, harnessing the speed and precision in using a fully-digital platform to submit, accommodate, and even evaluate entries without the need for paper submissions. 

Secondly, the HFA launched the new Best Automotive Website category which recognizes the power of digital platforms in informing, educating, and influencing the Filipino motorist. Below are the winners in the 16 categories:

Regular Categories

Best Automotive Column
10 Guidelines: Proper Parking Etiquette for Riders
Aristeo Ilagan of Top Gear Philippines

Best Automotive Green Feature
Are Filipinos Ready for The Electric Vehicle Lifestyle?
Isaac Atienza of Go Flat Out

Best Automotive Industry Feature
Philippines: The Next Battleground for China’s Gargantuan Auto Industry?
Vince Pornelos of AutoIndustriya

Best Automotive Online Feature 
First Drive: The Toyota Hiace Grandia Tourer Takes on Manila’s Tight Streets
Andrei Laurel of Top Gear Philippines

Best Automotive Online Lifestyle Feature
Pay Check: Can I Really Afford a Car? Things to Consider Before Making an Auto Purchase
Eric Tipan of AutoIndustriya

Best Automotive Photograph
Wolf Pack
Jenna Genio of AutoIndustriya

Best Automotive Print Feature
Ride and AI 
Ruben Alcantara Jr. of Gadgets Magazine

Best Automotive Print Lifestyle Feature

Finding Your New, Pre-Loved Ride

Kristoffer Lim of Speed Magazine

Best Automotive Road Safety Feature
6 Defensive Driving Tips to Keep You Safe on the Road
Kristoffer Lim of AutoCar Philippines

Best Automotive Technology Feature
Waze Map Editors are Unsung Heroes of PH’s Fight Against Traffic
Andrei Laurel of Top Gear Philippines

Best Automotive Video Feature
Driving Schools in Japan
Mark Francis Jesalva of Top Gear Philippines

Special Categories

Best Ford Automotive Feature
Raptors in the Desert: Pushing the Ford Ranger Raptor to the Limit
Carl Christian Van Hoven of C! Magazine

Best Ford Automotive Video Feature
Adventures Await: What Makes the Ford Everest a Perfect Road Trip Vehicle
Vince Pornelos of AutoIndustriya

Best Ford Automotive Photograph
Kelvin Christian Go of AutoIndustriya

Best Broadsheet Motoring Section
Philippine Daily Inquirer

Best Automotive Website
Top Gear Philippines

Board of Judges

An panel of judges from the academe and the corporate world comprised this year’s HFA panel of judges.

For the first phase, which evaluated the entries on overall composition, style, and substance, the judges were Dr. Maria Margarita Alvina-Acosta (Dean, Department of Communication, Miriam College), Dr. Arminda Vallejo-Santiago (Dean, College of Mass Communication, University of the Philippines – Diliman), Dr. Severino R. Sarmenta, Jr. (Lecturer, Ateneo De Manila University) and Dr. Cheryll Ruth Soriano (Associate Professor and Research Fellow, De La Salle University – Manila).

On the other hand, the judges for the second phase looked at resonance, relevance and overall impact of the entry to the reading audience. They were Charmaine Canillas (General Manager, Petron Foundation), Ma. Rosario Logarta-Lagamon (Director for Corporate Communications, Cebu Pacific), and Jeffrey Ochoa Tarayao (President, One Meralco Foundation). Executives from Ford Group Philippines led by its managing director, PK Umashankar, also participated in the deliberation process.

Finally, the special judges for this year’s awards for photos, videos, design and layout, and digital publishing included Jose Lorenzo Diokno (Filmmaker), Erwin Oliva (Content Management Head for Digital Marketing, Metrobank), Dino Ocampo (Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy Philippines), and Richard Perez (Commercial Photographer).

To Top